Hindsight or Something

August 27, 2009

“My lovely (ex)girlfriend decided to finish me for reasons unknown. But, that throws me back in with all these single people I see about the place, so I guess I’ll cope.”  Fri Jul 7, 2006, 4:30 PM

Taken from the DA page of my lovely (current)boyfriend. We didn’t even know each other at this point, and I wouldn’t even have been single then, but I take great comfort in knowing that at some point we both happened to be single and then good things happened.

I love being able to look at old diary and blog entries to see how much has changed. That’s why I’m determined to keep my IRL diary going, despite never being able to in the past. Even if it means catching up on 10 days worth when you go to Scotland/can’t be bothered.

On that note, I went to Scotland. And saw pleasant Irish comic David O’Doherty live. Second time seeing him, and third time having an Edinburgh Fringe experience with him (I bumped into him in the street last year; he has really big hands. He stuck one out to shake mine, and I couldn’t get over the fact they were bigger than my head).
The Fringe is an amazing event for those wanting to celeb spot. My parents and I (yeah, I went with them- what of it? I’m still cool.) were milling about the Pleasance Courtyard (gorgeous, by the way) to see where the DO’D venue was, when I overheard, “*gasp* It’s him! That celebrity off the telly!”, which is nice and vague. I scanned the crowd, but could see nobody. However upon my second glance, I saw him. One head was above all others. Only bloody Steve Merchant, one of the comedic legends behind the RSK podcasts, The Office and Extras, to name but a few.
Needless to say, I got an autograph and ended up making a fool of myself.
I inadvertently curtseyed.
Hey, at least I met Steve Merchant. I’ll take a bit of shame along with that any day.

2 Responses to “Hindsight or Something”

  1. Andrew said

    Awesome, curtsies are underrated. Bring them back, oh wizard of cool. Maybe your parents will help.

  2. laubrau said

    I just noticed the monkier you assigned me. Use this more often, please.

Leave a Reply

